MLB Home Run Derby Results: Which Players Have Won Multi-Time Championship Titles, And Who Has The Most?

The T-Mobile 2023 Home Run Derby field is set for action! Who will win tonight’s derby is yet to be seen, however, one of the contestants is on the verge of making Home Run Derby history – that is if he can walk away with the title this evening.

Over the years, numerous power hitters have participated, but only a select few have managed to secure multiple Home Run Derby titles. In this article, we will delve into the players who have achieved this remarkable feat and left an indelible mark on the competition. Let’s start with the No.1 multiple title holder himself – Ken Griffey Jr!

Ken Griffey Jr., 3 titles (1994, ’98, ’99):

Ken Griffey Jr. stands at the pinnacle of the Home Run Derby’s history, both in terms of appearances and victories. With eight appearances, Griffey showcased his extraordinary power and skill. He claimed his first title in 1994 in Pittsburgh, followed by wins in 1998 in Colorado and 1999 in Boston. Griffey’s iconic performance in the 1993 Derby, where he hit a memorable home run off the B&O Warehouse at Camden Yards, solidified his status as a Derby legend.

2-T) Pete Alonso, 2 titles (2019, ’21):

Pete Alonso, also known as the “Polar Bear,” made an immediate impact in the Home Run Derby. In 2019, during his record-setting rookie season, Alonso emerged victorious at Cleveland’s Progressive Field. He returned in 2021 and successfully defended his title, defeating Trey Mancini in the final round. Alonso’s confident and effortless display of power, combined with his calm demeanor, made him a force to be reckoned with in the competition.

2-T) Yoenis Céspedes, 2 titles (2013-14):

Yoenis Céspedes broke barriers by becoming the first non-All-Star player to win the Home Run Derby. In 2013, he triumphed at New York’s Citi Field, besting Bryce Harper in the final round. The following year, now an All-Star, Céspedes defended his title at Minnesota’s Target Field with an impressive display of power. His memorable performances solidified his place in Derby history.

2-T) Prince Fielder, 2 titles (2009, ’12):

Prince Fielder, following in the footsteps of his father Cecil, became a dominant force in the Home Run Derby. With six appearances, Fielder claimed his first title in 2009 in St. Louis. He then secured his second victory in 2012 at Kansas City’s Kauffman Stadium. Fielder’s powerful displays, combined with his ability to represent multiple teams, made him a fan favorite and a two-time champion.

Over the course of the Home Run Derby’s history, only a handful of players have managed to win the title more than once. Ken Griffey Jr., Pete Alonso, Yoenis Céspedes, and Prince Fielder have etched their names in Derby lore with their exceptional power and performances.

As the 2023 T-Mobile Home Run Derby approaches, baseball fans eagerly await the possibility of Pete Alonso joining Griffey Jr. as the only player to capture three titles. With the competition’s rich history, the event promises to be a captivating display of raw power and an opportunity for a new champion to etch their name in baseball history.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial